PA Route 6 Seeking Nominations For “Do 6” Awards

Galeton (January 17, 2017) – The PA Route 6 Alliance wants to recognize six innovators, movers, and initiatives along the Heritage Corridor that made a difference in 2016 and is now taking nominations for the “Do 6” Awards to be presented at the Annual Meeting in May.

The awards are presented to individuals, businesses or organizations that have undertaken outstanding efforts that give new meaning to “DO 6” by supporting and implementing sustainable tourism development along the PA Route 6 Heritage Corridor. The award winners exemplify the mission of the PA Route 6 Alliance to protect, preserve and promote the scenic, cultural, historical and recreational resources in the northern tier.

The awards are presented in the areas of Heritage Partnerships, Leadership, Heritage Community of the Year, Heritage Tourism (projects or events), Artisan of the Year and Lifetime Achievement.

Last year’s award winners included the Corry Area Historical Society, Corry, PA (Heritage Partnership Award); Waymart Area Parties in the Park, Waymart, PA (Heritage Tourism Award); Nancy Holmberg and Joanne Oviatt of Youngsville and Pittsfield, respectively (Heritage Leadership Award; Borough of Tunkhannock (Heritage Community of the Year Award); Wendy Neckers, Painted Finch Gallery, Corry, PA (Artisan of the Year Award); and Juanita Hampton, Crawford County Convention and Visitors Bureau (Lifetime Achievement Award).

Nominations can be submitted by anyone along the PA Route 6 Corridor and are due by Friday, March 10th, 2017. Nomination forms and category descriptions are available on the website at: Winners will be notified prior to the meeting. For more information, please contact the PA Route 6 Alliance at 814-435-7706.